Twitter Message Double chevron left Chevron right Double chevron right Double chevron up Double chevron down Arrow right Menu Call Plus Minus Search Facebook Twitter LinkedIn LinkedIn-square Arrow Download Pin User Telephone Mail

New penalty regime for late payment of VAT and late filing of VAT returns

The new penalty regime was due to be introduced on 1 April 2022, however this has now been delayed until 1 January 2023.  The new regime will replace the current default surcharge regime.  Taxpayers will receive a point every time they miss a submission deadline. HMRC will notify them of each point. At the relevant threshold of points, a financial penalty of £200 will be charged and the taxpayer will be notified.  When a taxpayer has reached their threshold, a penalty will be charged for that failure and every subsequent failure (but the points total will not increase further).  Points will have a lifetime of two years.  The penalty thresholds will be as follows:

  • Annual submission – penalty threshold 2 points
  • Quarterly submission – penalty threshold 4 points
  • Monthly submission – penalty threshold 5 points.

For more information, please click here.

Written 14 January 2022.